Too Famous To Get Fully Dressed

Ahhh, sandwiches!

Monster Update // Recent Writing n’ Stuff

leave a comment »

It’s been far too long since I updated this thing properly and it’s probably too much to expect that I’ll do it regularly, so here’s a little post with links to what I’ve been working on the past week or two!

It seems that unnecessarily harsh criticism is the best kind. The day after I put up this slightly bitchy (but completely justified) post about Joe.ie’s music churnalism, I got a kind response from the editor and wound up agreeing to contribute an Album of the Week feature to the site each Friday. Funny how things work out!

So far, I’ve reviewed PJ Harvey’s new record, Let England Shake, Darkest Hour’s The Human Romance and, most recently, Radiohead’s The King of Limbs. Curiously, it’s the Darkest Hour post that’s gotten by the far the most Facebook/Twitter action. Radiohead-related burnout or a reflection of how little heavy metal crticism there is online compared to indier genres? Probably both.

I had the opportunity to interview Mikey Way and Frank Iero from My Chemical Romance when they played Dublin’s O2 on February 16. Despite the fact I found their recent album Danger Days: The Lives of the Fabulous Killjoys to be a load of pretentious nonsense, the two lads were genuinely sound and down to earth, and it was probably the best interview I’ve done, at least with a group of their stature. You can read the full transcript at State.ie.

It’s been an eventful few weeks at Sputnik too, with a few new staff members coming on board and a few more leaving, and so far the new reviewers are settling in well. From a personal perspective, the boring behind-the-scenes stuff has been keeping me busy, but I’ve had the chance to drop a couple of longer blogs: this one on the discomforting phenomenon of OFWGKTA/Odd Future, this one on the music of the Six Nations and another on the short-lived Dire Straits/homophobia furore.

Finally, I’ve finally followed through with a long-held aspiration to set up a football blog. The Second Post will hopefully serve as an outlet for me to branch into a style of writing I’m still relatively unfamiliar with and hopefully I’ll be able to get a couple of other people on board to help out. My first post, a report on Chelsea’s narrow win over Manchester United on Tuesday night, can be seen here. (I’m still working out the kinks in the design on this one.)

Written by Dave

March 2, 2011 at 1:37 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

