Too Famous To Get Fully Dressed

Ahhh, sandwiches!

This is the Something Something of a band called Adebisi Shank

with one comment

Adebisi Shank released their second album (so imaginatively titled – I don’t know how they came up with it) last month. My album review can (finally) be seen here.

The album is still available for streaming in full from Nialler9′s blog, and it’s well worth a listen or two. It took a while to grow on me, as I was so wedded to the frantic spasticness of the first record (and still am, really), but I’m glad they decided to break the mould and incorporate some new influences. Harmonically, it’s miles ahead of the first record.

The record was officially launched the same night with a gig in Whelan’s, which I couldn’t attend because the entire world has conspired to destroy every opportunity for enjoyment in my life. Nay has a cracking review of the show up over at Harmless Noise, Alan Moore took some rather nice photees and the folks at Ruthless Imagery have put up a video of the set-closing stage invasion.

There was also a free gig on Monday night in Tower Records – I have no excuse for missing this, I just don’t like going to gigs where I can’t get muntered, and the football was on TV.

Here’s my favourite track from the new album, ‘Genki Shank’:

Written by Dave

September 17, 2010 at 12:28 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] chosen a fresh start and so far, there’s news of The Mighty Stef and a link to his review of Adebisi Shank’s new album. Here’s to loads more…and a better taste in WordPress [...]


Leave a Reply

